Short vs long-form articles

Why you should consider doing less

Johannes Thor
2 min readDec 10, 2020

As a writer on Medium, I bet you’ve come across claims that longer articles are better.

There are good reasons for this argument. One is that members’ reading time influences your earnings. You can also say more in a longer article. If you have more to say.

That’s all well and good, but not every article deserves to be a 1000+ word piece.

Photo by Susan Yin on Unsplash

Long vs short books

I’m an avid reader. Every year I read several books. Some of them I never finish. The reason is almost always the same, it takes too long to get to the point.

Books in the self-help genre are more prone to this. You can boil many of those books down to a Twitter thread. For content to be worthy of a book, it doesn’t have to be long and drawn out. It needs to have depth, substance, and complexity that makes an effort to get across to a reader.

Great books leave me wanting more. They leave their essence with me after I finish the last page. They’re clear and thought-provoking, if not life-altering.

Long vs short articles

I enjoy reading long articles that teach me something I didn’t know. But more often than not I come across long-form articles that are too…

--

--

Johannes Thor

Icelandic guy. Really into personal improvement. Join me to become the best version of yourself at https://begynner.com